Plants for the Lazy SouthEast Texas Gardener

I temporarily got plant fever and decided that it was time to upgrade our garden in the backyard. It should be noted that I’m pretty lazy when I come to gardening… It’s why I tend to only raise succulents. They’re really the only things that I seem to be able to keep alive on the patio because I have a tendency to forget to water my plants.

We have a flowerbed that our large windows highlight. It is a focal point that you see from the living room, dining room and kitchen. It was completely overgrown with weeds for the last few months, and I really want something that is nice to look out at since we have our blinds open most of the time. I finally got around to doing some research on plants, because that’s what I do. ๐Ÿ™‚

My plants had to meet the following requirements:

  • Able to grow locally
  • Low maintenance
  • High shade tolerance
  • High drought tolerance
  • Look good throughout the year
  • Flowers bloom at different times of year.
  • Perennials only

Color-wise, I wanted to stick with ย complementary colors, so I went with – roughly – fuchsia tones and chartreuse tones. There will be some variance from the color scheme, but this was my inspiration. I don’t have any fuchsia in the flowers I chose below, but the trees I have in the garden will have fuchsia flowers.

Color Me Beautiful

I was surprised to see just how many perennials fit my pretty specific needs. Also, I was able to find some perennials that were just as showy as the annuals.

Below are some of the plants that I got. Pictures are all taken from my garden! They’ve been in the ground about 2 days now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Creeping Jenny – This was the chartreuse that I needed. ๐Ÿ™‚ These were not very expensive, and are crawlers. I’m hoping that it’ll give me a nice bright ground cover eventually.

IMG_20160326_121004

2. Hellebore – Also known as Lenten Rose in the color “Cotton Candy” -It’s the Terra Nova nurseries and in the “Winter Jewels” Series. Hellebores are honestly one of the most beautiful flowers I have every seen, and it will bloom in the winter, which means that our garden will have signs of life even when other plants are normally dormant. They are also supposed to be very easy to grow and low maintenance. I wish I could’ve gotten more of these, but they were $25 a piece. If this one does well, I might go back and grab another one. If you want to see some major eye candy, go on Pinterest, and just search “Hellebore”. They come in every color imaginable! This is my personal favorite and I can’t wait to see it grow.

IMG_20160326_120948.jpg

3. Spotted Dead Nettle in “Orchid Frost” and “White Nancy” – So, I didn’t actually mean to buy 2 colors. I meant to just buy this purple, but surprise! It’s okay, though. I bought these as an alternate ground cover, but I think it’ll grow more upright than the Creeping Jenny. From far away, the leaves look silver, which is pretty cool and will add some nice texture, and they will grow year round blooming in late spring and early summer. Obviously, this one’s already blooming. We’ve had a pretty warm winter here in South Texas, so that may be the reason.

IMG_20160326_120941

4. Persian Shield – Okay… So this one doesn’t really fit my whole chartreuse and fuchsia color scheme, but I couldn’t resist, so I bought one… In the winter, it will have small violet flowers. This one is actually going to get fairly tall, so I’ll have to keep it trimmed since I planted it in the front. I think this plant looks very striking.

IMG_20160326_120930

5. ??? Mystery Plant ??? – This one comes back every year, and has a pretty red flower on it, but I have no idea what kind of plant it is… I figure if it’s survived for this long it’ll probably be okay, so it’s still in my garden – even though it will not match my color scheme. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know if you have any idea what kind of plant this is! I’d love to know!

IMG_20160326_175500

6. Jasmine – Last, but certainly not least! This might be one of the more finnicky plants that I’ve chosen, but I chose it because I love the smell of Jasmine. I’m hoping that someday it’ll climb the fence. You can see it’s already reaching for it! ๐Ÿ™‚ It barely has any flowers on it, but on the way home it made my care smell lovely.

IMG_20160326_175517.jpg

I covered the soil with red mulch to discourage weed growth. It’s amazing how fast it can get out of hand.

Not pictured, are my Elephant Ears. I removed a bunch of them from the side of the fence. They are a handful and have become a bit invasive in my yard. You’ll see those growing right next to one of my tree on the right in the picture below. If you do choose to grow big leaf plants, I would advise you not to go with Elephant Ears. The root is gigantic ( almost the size of a pineapple), and it’s a pain to dig up.

I also have Aloe Vera which seems to be growing well in the front there. I left him there since he seemed happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Below is a picture of how my little garden looks now. That pot in the back has an elephant ear that I dug up and a creeping jenny, which will hopefully start crawling out of the pot in a few weeks. I wish I could’ve taken a before picture, but oh well. ๐Ÿ™‚ I intend on giving an update when it gets more mature, so follow if you’d like to see that!

IMG_20160326_120910

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post. I’ll try to post an update as stuff starts growing and looking more established… As long as I can keep it all alive!

What are you all growing? Do you have any specific requirements for your plants? Any advice for a novice gardener like me? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

