WordPress and INFJs

Hey, everyone! So I don’t think I’ve touched on it in any of my past blog entries, but I’m a huge Myers-Briggs nerd. It’s honestly pretty embarrassing how obsessed I am with it.

If you’re unfamiliar with it, Myers Briggs is basically a personality profiling system that categorized you into personality types, but it’s way more than that. Here is a link to a pretty good article about it. You may want to read the article before you read the rest of my blog if you want it to make any sense. 🙂

Part of the reason why I initially became obsessed with Myers Briggs is because it gave me the ability to accept myself for who I am. It also taught me how others act and think, and made me more aware of different personality differences and how they interact with my own. It helped me to figure out why people act the way they do, and how to interact with those who think differently.

Throughout my life, I had always thought of myself as kind of weird compared to everyone else around me. I didn’t discover the Myers Briggs system until my mid 20s. When I discovered that I am an INFJ, suddenly everything clicked into place and I knew why I seemed so different my whole life. It’s because I literally think differently from others.

Before I discovered my personality type, I saw my sensitivity as a burden. In a way, it felt like I was broken, because I felt like even little things would affect me way more than they should’ve. I did a pretty good job of hiding my emotions, because I knew that if I didn’t I would just look like a wreck.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but many of my emotions were based on what others seemed to be feeling… I was friends with the people who had no friends because I didn’t want them to feel lonely. I could never seem to do anything for myself. It was always for others. This went with dating as well… I dated a bunch of guys because I felt bad telling them no, and didn’t want them to feel embarrassed. I just dated those people until things inevitably fizzled out, as I knew they would. (Not healthy, I know!) I basically did whatever everyone else wanted me to do for the most part. I actually had to make an effort to think about myself more. It is still something that I struggle with.

When I was younger, I also hated that while others seemed to be so decisive on their views of the world, I couldn’t even figure out my own (what should’ve been) core moral beliefs… I found out by reading up on my personality type (INFJ) that my type sees everything (and I do mean everything) as interconnected, and being able to see these interconnections is key to developing their beliefs. This is especially important when trying to see the big picture, which the INFJ tries to do in order to make informed decisions… When I was younger, I had fewer of these “connections” due to less life experience, less historical knowledge, less general knowledge, less sensory input, etc. I developed – and am still developing – many of my beliefs, and that’s okay!

I think that a good number of the people I meet on WordPress are INFJs, or are Intuitives in general. It’s honestly part of the reason why I started a blog here. Intuitives are greatly outnumbered in the world by Sensors, and INFJs in general, even more-so. I’ve been trying to find others like myself, and I feel like I have found other like minds here on WordPress, which I’m grateful for.

Don’t get me wrong. I love sensors, and I truly do believe that we all have a unique place in this world and have a unique part to play. Sometimes it’s nice to hear the voices in the background, though. 🙂

Anyway, I look forward to meeting you. Do you share any of my experiences? Has learning about Myers Briggs affected your life? What type do you test as? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

19 thoughts on “WordPress and INFJs

  1. When I took the test in my early 20s, I was an ESFJ. I took it again in my 30s and was an ISFJ. Took it about five years ago (mid 40s) and I was an INFJ. It’s been fun watching my personality progression. :-). And I agree with you, it was eye opening and helped me too with accepting myself as I was / as I am.

    Like

  2. I’ve taken the test a few times and have always been an INFJ. It’s made me appreciate my alone time, understand my creative process and made me more aware of my extroverted feeling side, which basically means we wear our thoughts on my faces. So I am more careful about managing my expressions, because sometimes it’s hard to feign a smile around someone irritating. But it’s important to try to manage my exterior emotions when dealing with people at work because my job can sometimes have a political component.

    I have a child with and ESTJ. He’s literally my polar opposite, but somehow we work. It’s the best relationship I’ve had. In thinking about how we absorb emotions, I guess it makes sense. ESTJs are not overtly emotional. So it’s pretty chill around here.

    Like

  3. Hi, thanks for the recent follow :). I discovered the Myers-Briggs personality test about 4 years ago. And I’ve taken the test from 16personalities.com which I found gave me the most detailed description. I am an INFJ and it’s crazy how similar our experiences are! I have always felt like the odd one out. Not understanding why I felt such anxiety before any social event yet loved spending time with people and dressing up and going out. Taking the test truly helped me accept and understand myself. My husband is also an INFJ & we’ve been together for 10 years (high school sweethearts) and it makes sense why we just click and understand each other so well. And as you mentioned, its great to read about other personalities because as INFJ’s we are always trying to see the world through everyone’s perspectives and every bit of info helps. ^_^ I really enjoyed reading your post by the way.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi Christie! I am also an INFJ! Found you from your like on my blog. I can tell you put a lot of thought in your blog posts and I appreciate your honesty and wisdom. Keep up the great posts and artwork and crafts 🙂

    Like

  5. It’s awesome to find yet another INFJ in the blogging world! 😀 thanks for sharing. I, too, am an INFJ. And I found it really interesting to read about someone else being friends with those who didn’t have friends so they wouldn’t be lonely or dating for the sake of not hurting their feelings. I found myself doing that a lot in high school and the start of college, but I never really knew why that was a pattern in my life. Knowing about Introverted Intuition and Extroverted Feeling, however, has explained SO MUCH. Great blog! 🙂 I look forward to exploring it more!

    Like

  6. “Part of the reason why I initially became obsessed with Myers Briggs is because it gave me the ability to accept myself for who I am. It also taught me how others act and think, and made me more aware of different personality differences and how they interact with my own. It helped me to figure out why people act the way they do, and how to interact with those who think differently.”

    YES 100% agree with the reasons behind your obsession, because I experienced that as well.

    A reason I got into MBTI is because I had a very unhealthy manifestation of extraverted feeling. I would lose myself in my friends. I’d adopt their values even though they were not necessarily my own and I would try to constantly please other people yet deprive myself of acceptance, respect and the love that I needed to balance myself.

    I grew alienated so I turned to psychology for an answer to why I felt this way. After a lot of analysis, studying up on cognitive functions and counter checking with other people, I found my type: INFJ.

    Currently I’m using MBTI/Socionics and Cognitive functions to balance myself as a person by exercising my weaker functions Ti and Se.

    You had an awesome blog post! Please keep it up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I feel special being an Infj and just discovered the test at 24 (my current age). I long stopped caring to connect with others after college- but for half of my childhood/teen years, I did have moments of feeling misunderstood and self conscious. I even spent those years believeng that I had some form of pure social anxiety. Exclusion and emotional numbness were and still kinda are my closet friends though. Regardless, it finally feels good to feel umderstood. Most people have found me ‘different’ with a few explicitly telling me that. I now take ino shame in that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am also an INFJ and also obsessed with Myers-Briggs. I agree with all you said. I have learned so much about myself and upon learning my type and researching it, felt for the first time that someone, somewhere finally “gets” me. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

