Journal 1 of 4: Woodprint Journal

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I ended up making 4 journals – Each of them were made for some of the women I love the most. I want to share each of them, but think it would be best for me to break up the posts into 4 so that each journal can be shared in detail without making the post stupidly long.

The first journal I’m going to share is the Woodprint journal for my friend Alexis. Alexis has been one of my best friends since the sixth grade. So we’ve been friends for close to 20 years. She, I, and Bianca – one of the others I made a journal for – are commonly known as “The 3 Musketeers”, and “A, B, and C” because we were always together, and still continue trying to meet up as a trio. She and I are very different personality-wise. She is very direct, and curse words are a regular part of her vocabulary. 🙂 She is also very directive, and just really funny! She went to school for Criminal Justice, and fits into that environment perfectly. 🙂

She lives a few hours away with her husband and an adorable little baby, so I don’t see her as much anymore, but we are still very close and I still consider her one of my best friends.

Anyway! To the journal! As mentioned, I wanted each of them to reflect their owner’s personalities. My friend Alexis is very “western” – I’m not sure if that’s the most accurate word, but she loves the idea of living on a ranch, loves country music, and got married in cowgirl boots. She is also an amazing cook. I decided to use these traits as inspiration, and here is the end result:

All of the necessary supplies I needed came from Hobby Lobby with the exception of the cardboard box and magazines and vintage paper that I recycled. Everything on this page. The brown crinkly material on the back and near the spine is actually paper that looks like leather. The gold portion in the middle of the metal label is gold linen. I used faux leather ribbon to separate the spine portion from the weathered turquoise woodprint paper, and antiqued photo corner accents.

wp-1481044891095.jpg

The back of this one is less detailed.

wp-1481044811620.jpg

On the side, I used a metallic gold embroidery thread for the stitching and added 3 charms in an eyelet at the top – One aqua faux leather tassle, a metal antiqued turquoise cowboy boot with gold and ruby rhinestone details, and a gold horse charm.

wp-1481044875134.jpg

I wanted each journal to be a bit eclectic and mis-matched a bit to make them more quirky. The inside paper is a print that reminded me of a farmers market. I made the first page a scrapbook page covered in Kiwis, and used a quilt patterned paper as the border for the quote I chose for this journal and for my friend.wp-1481044861656.jpg

I did my best to find quotes that match each person, and this one fit her the best. The quote was done with a calligraphy pen.

wp-1481044844655.jpg

Each journal that I made is a bit different from a traditional journal. Most of the pages are white and unlined, but I threw in some scrapbooking paper, envelopes, pockets, etc. to make it a bit more colorful and less traditional. The papers and patterns I chose correspond with the theme of the journal as a whole.

wp-1481044827951.jpg

Each journal that I made was made with the same template. 6 signatures containing about 3 pages folded in half a piece.

wp-1481044917471.jpg

Here’s a picture of it getting ready to be boxed up and wrapped!

wp-1481044794629.jpg

Hopefully she enjoys it, and I hope you found this post entertaining. I

know that I’ve mentioned it before, but if you want to learn the basics of bookbinding, Check out Sealemon on youtube. She has a bunch of unique, entertaining and inspiring tutorials for people new to bookbinding.

Basic bookbinding, in my opinion, is one of the easiest, cheapest, and most rewarding hobbies to get into. You generally have the materials needed to make a basic book around your house, and even if you mess up a bit the first time, the end result still looks good and is usable.

I hope you enjoyed this post! As mentioned, I will be making 3 more – one for each journal. Keep an eye out for those if you’re interested! 🙂

One thought on “Journal 1 of 4: Woodprint Journal

Leave a Reply

