Party Dress Woes

A few months ago, I found the most amazingly perfect night-out dress at Goodwill for $10. 

When I say perfect, I mean it was absolutely perfect – the pattern of the dress was so flattering, the material was thick enough to conceal any flaws or underwear lines, and it was stretchy enough to be comfortable. Everything was perfect. I mean, just look at it!!!(and ignore the socks- this was in the dressing room).

So after a few months of not having an occasion wear it my husband mentioned a Christmas party that his office was going to be throwing. This was my chance! I was so excited! 

When I put the dress on that night for the party, it looked great! 

But gradually, things began to change… At first I thought it was my imagination… Is it just me, or does the dress seem a bit off center on the bottom half?

Turns out, it wasn’t just my imagination, but I didn’t find that out until we got to the restaurant. 

As I walked to the restaurant arm in arm with my husband, I could feel the dress slowly but surely rotating around my hips. I kept trying to re-adjust it, but the thing fit like a glove, so it was nearly impossible without making a big show. :S.

By the time I got home, the skirt portion of the dress was completely sideways! Imagine my disappointment…
So, if you understand sewing basics, you would understand that fabric contains grain lines. In other words, fabric is generally constructed in a grid-like shape. It’s vital that the pattern be cut very carefully so that the grain is straight. Otherwise, the garment will warp like this one did. Unfortunately, this dress was not constructed properly . I believe that the black side portions were slightly off the grain when they were constructed, so they ended up warping.

In its present state, I would feel terrible to sell it on my Poshmark site due to this defect that – although not immediately noticeable- renders the garment unusable.

So, this would be a sad story – especially due to how much I adore this dress, but I still have plans for it.

I plan on eventually deconstructing it and using it as a pattern for a new dress. That’s one if the many blessings of knowing how to sew. I will need to find the fabric, but hopefully I’ll be able to post an update in a later entry!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading this! Have you ever been really disappointed by a garment that you bought? have you ever used an existing garment to make something new? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

