What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

As a 30 year old, I consider myself an adult… And I still don’t have an answer to this question.

When I was younger, I asked myself this, and I always figured that as I got older, I’d just know one day, but that didn’t happen.

I struggled throughout high school and college with whether I should go for my dream job (as an artist), or get a generic degree for a generic job that realistically would give me a steady paycheck. I chose the latter because I would go insane if I had to try to support myself without a steady paycheck to rely on…

In most ways, I do not regret the decision I made, and in today’s job market, I have to realize that I am lucky to have the job I have.
Honestly, I don’t think that there’s a cookie cutter job out there for me. Some people simply don’t have the ability to get paid for something they’re passionate about, and I’m one of them.

I use my job as a way to be able to afford to invest in the supplies I need to fulfill my passions, which is making art and creating in general. This has worked well enough for me.

I won’t lie, though. I do sometimes regret not getting a bachelor degree in an art major. My sister got this chance, and I envy her a bit for getting that opportunity, but despite my lack of passion for my job, I do like my job, and I do get a steady paycheck, so I’m happy with the decision I made.

So, if you’re struggling with this question, try to consider what’s most important to you in life – not necessarily what you want to be, because there might not be a job out there that will be “just right”.

Update: Please see my updated post here on the same subject. After some reflection, I have a different view now.

Leave a Reply

